Sustainability Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 3rd Thursday of each month
  • Carbondale Civic Center
       200 S Illinois Avenue
       Room 103
       Carbondale, IL 62901

Meetings are subject to cancellation if there is no business to discuss. The News Media will be notified of changes to this meeting schedule in accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act.

Agendas and Minutes

View Agendas and Minutes of the Carbondale Sustainability Commission.

Carbondale Sustainability Survey

The Sustainability Commission is seeking ideas from the community to help develop a Sustainability Action Plan for Carbondale.

Ideas from individuals who live and work in Carbondale will be crucial in helping the City achieve its goals. Specific areas of interest include Energy in Built Infrastructure, Energy in Transportation, Water Use and Green Infrastructure, Food Production and Consumption, and Waste Reduction.

Reaching sustainability and resilience goals requires measurable reductions in the City’s contribution to greenhouse gases and an increase in its ability to withstand the impact of extreme weather events. However, there are many paths to achieve these measurable goals.

A Sustainability Survey is available in the June/July issue of the Carbondale Communique. It can also be accessed here. Completed surveys can be dropped off at City Hall or sent by email to The deadline to submit ideas is Monday, September 30.

The Sustainability Commission will begin a community conversation in early fall to discuss the creation of Carbondale’s Sustainability Action Plan in more detail.

If you have questions or would like more information, contact Sustainability Action Plan Subcommittee member, Jane Cogie, at (618) 713-7024.


Aur Beck
Email Aur Beck
Jane Cogie
Email Jane Cogie
Nicholas Erwin (SIU Representative)
Evan Ewing (CCHS Representative)
Tom Grant
Email Tom Grant
Sarah Heyer
Charles Howe
Email Charles Howe
Saxon Metzger
Loren Polley (Refuse & Recycling Supervisor)
Email Loren Polley
Scott Thorne
Email Scott Thorne


The Sustainability Commission is responsible for:

  • Applying energy and environmental conservation principles throughout the City
  • Increasing energy efficiency in transportation
  • Recommending energy conservation in building code
  • Recycling and the use of reusable materials
  • Sharing information and expertise on environmental issues with other groups and organizations
  • Studying possible incentives for renewable energy and energy conservation


  • Nine members appointed by the Mayor with the consent of the Council


  • One CCHS member, who resides within the City limits, to be appointed for a 1-year term
  • One SIU Student member, who resides within the City limits, to be appointed for a 1-year term
  • Two-thirds of all members must reside within City limits or 1 1/2 miles of City limits

Additional Information